Skip to main content  

British flag

​On Thursday 8 June 2017, a UK Parliamentary General Election will take place. The City of London is part of the Cities of London and Westminster constituency.

The overall running and co-ordination of the election in the constituency is the responsibility of the Acting Returning Officer, Charlie Parker, who is also the Chief Executive of City of Westminster Council. However, local arrangements including registering voters, sending poll cards and postal votes and arranging and running the polling stations will be administered by the Electoral Services team at the City of London.

Registering to vote

Individuals can apply to be added to the Electoral Register at any time by completing an online form. If you do not wish to complete the online form please contact electoral services who can provide you with a form and return envelope.

Individuals who are wishing to register must note that in order to complete the new registration form you will need to provide your National Insurance Number. Your National Insurance Number can be found on your P60 given to you by your employer, a payslip, a copy of your annual Self Assessment tax return or any other official correspondence from HM Revenue & Customs.

More information is available on Residential registration.

The last date for registration for these elections is Midnight on Monday 22 May 2017.

Postal votes and proxy votes

All registered voters can apply to vote by post if they would rather have their ballot papers posted to them than attending the polling station on 8 June. Many will already have a permanent arrangement in place.

The deadline for new applications to vote by post and to change existing postal voting arrangements is 5pm on Tuesday 23 May 2017.

If you have applied to vote by post in the for the upcoming General Election, your postal ballot paper will be dispatched on one fo the following dates:

  • Thursday 18 May - if your postal vote was already in place or your postal vote application was received by Thursday 27th April.
  • Tuesday 30 May - if your postal vote application was received between Friday 28 April and the postal vote application deadline of 5pm on Tuesday 23 May.

Please note that if you have a postal vote in place and wish to apply for a proxy vote instead, your completed proxy application form must be received by Electoral Services by 5pm on Tuesday 23 May which is the deadline for postal vote cancellations/applications/amendments.

Registered voters may also apply to appoint a proxy (someone to vote on their behalf) if they are unable to attend the polling station themselves on 8 June. The deadline for new applications is 5pm on Wednesday 31 May 2017.

Polling Stations

There are 4 polling station venues in the City. Eligible registered elections have been allocated to a specific polling station and will have been sent a poll card confirming their voting arrangements.

The polling stations will be open from 7am until 10pm on Thursday 8 June. Voters do not need their poll card to vote, but having it will assist the polling station staff to find a voter's record in the register and make the issuing of ballot papers quicker.

AL Polling District

St Bride Foundation
14 Bride Lane
London EC4Y 8EQ

BL Polling District (2 stations BL1 and 2)

St Giles's Cripplegate
London EC2Y 8DA

CL Polling District

Learning Centre
Artizan Street Library and Community Centre
1 Artizan Street
London E1 7AE

DL Polling District

Sir Ralph Perring Centre
Golden Lane Estate
London EC1Y 0SH

Results and Notices

Notice of Election (70KB)

Statement of Persons Nominated (43KB)